Repairing Shell Holes: More Glassing, More… Fun.

Yesterday, Jared and I divided up and worked on two different tasks. My job was to fill in all the holes in our fiberglass shell.

To figure out how to do this, I watched this video from TAP plastics and read this phenomenal thread on FGRV. Thank you, wonderful people of the internet, for sharing your passion.

The pictures speak to the process better than text, so look at the images for a play-by-play of the process.

Day 1: The Small Holes

For these, I used the TAP Plastics method of repairing the gel coat and fiberglass together. Gel coat is weird, and it didn’t seem to layer like it did in the video. I ended up re-doing most of the holes. The one I didn’t re-do ended up looking like the gel coat encapsulated a grotesque, prehistoric Amazonian centipede. Can’t wait to fix that one.

The fiberglass mat I used was leftover from the floor, which is thicker than the mat recommended for patch jobs. This meant bubbles galore — the successive layers of mat couldn’t conform around the last layer because the mat was too stiff. Bubbles suck. And look ugly.

Basically, by the end of the day, I was super frustrated because I was 100% sure everything was just going to look awful and fall off and I was going to have to do it all over again anyway. At t = 36 hrs, it looks… fine. And still holding.

Day 2: The Big Holes

Today, went much better than yesterday. To repair these giant vent holes I used Dan’s guide on FGRV, and that went GREAT. I just did exactly what he recommended, adding in a little bit of gap fill to make up the difference in the shell thickness due to the curvature of the body in order to get a good smooth seam. Have a bit more work to do to glass the outside seam and fill in the screw holes, but I feel good about these patches. Hoo-rah!

Time: 11 person-hours

Dollars: ~$45

  • more gloves
  • more rags
  • more brushes
  • Bondo
Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Repairing Shell Holes: More Glassing, More… Fun.

  1. mom says:

    are those the shoes you bought @left lane for running?

  2. […] through the FGRV forums. It was a little embarrassing showing him my amateur (read: half-finished) patch jobs, but I felt like the interior looked […]

Leave a comment